Apparently it's some sort of "pro-am" site. I applied to be a travel writer and they, uh, picked me. I'm curious if anybody knows where examiner.com is on a 1 to 10 scale where "1" is "Application process? Everybody gets in, they're just scamming you for free content" and "10" is "ZOMG! You're writing for examiner.com? Wow, can I touch you..."


1 Answer 1


1 is correct.

See this overview on Examiner.com, and individual user experiences. It's a pay-per-click site - it's not going to earn you fame, fortune, or even a respectable line for your CV. If you want to write such content anyway, then the platform and pocket money might be nice; if you think you can leverage or promote your writing into some sort of success elsewhere, I suppose that's about as feasible as doing so on Blogger.

But you're asking about prestige of the venue, selectivity, about inherent career potential? They have none.

There are some more in-depth considerations of the cons and pros of content mills at Writer Beware:

  • 4
    Sad panda is sad. Jul 13, 2011 at 5:39
  • Its nice to know not only of this company, but this type of scam in general. Jul 13, 2011 at 12:41
  • 1
    @Shan: I just added a couple of links with more on the subject. More of a scheme than a scam, but far from being in most writers' best interests.
    – Standback
    Jul 13, 2011 at 14:14
  • 1
    While I agree with the general evaluation, characterizing it as a scam seems unfair. You don't get fame or fortune, but you're never offered it, either. They do exactly what they say they do for writers... that not being spectacular doesn't make it a scam.
    – HedgeMage
    Aug 19, 2011 at 16:37

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.